We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Soft Power

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 AUD  or more


Child's Play 05:27
Sea Change 05:17
Purity Pt. 1 00:39
Purity Pt. 2 06:11
Bucolica 04:42


A sonic meditation on suburbia and childhood nostalgia, Soft Power’s 3rd album “Bucolica” explores Matthew Roche’s distinctive songwriting for guitar, bass and drums drawing on new influences of Australiana and 70’s prog-rock. It is a vibrant and accomplished vision of song-less songs that hum and murmur with simplicity and warmth. With Oscar Neyland on double bass (The Rookies) and Christopher Cameron (The Rookies, Acolyte) on drums, the duo are the perfect foil for Roche’s sun-filled guitar hooks. Together the band create a mesmerising effect that is dynamic, groovy and meditative.

Engineered, mixed and mastered by Niko Schauble at Pughouse Studios in Melbourne, Bucolica’s 10 tracks mark exciting new territory for the band. Featuring 6 new compositions and re-visiting 2 old ones from the past, the improvised aesthetic is paired with tighter arrangements, through-composed pieces and savvy post-production techniques that rewards multiple listens.

Produced by both Matthew and Niko, the production acknowledges the “acoustic jazz” traditions of yesteryear whilst accompanied with digital studio tweaks to enhance and amplify each tracks peak moment. With some songs accompanied by shorter interludes and reprises, Bucolica is very much a place that we can sit still for – if only for around 37 minutes.


released September 20, 2019

Recorded on the land of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin nation, the traditional owners of this land. We pay our respects to Elders, past, present and emerging. We are forever grateful for the beautiful spiritual, cultural and artistic heritages of Indigenous people of this country and around the world. Together we stand united in solidarity. Sovereignty has never been ceded.

Engineered, mixed and mastered by Niko Schauble at Pughouse Studios, Thornbury, Melbourne, March 2019
Produced by Matthew Roche and Niko Schauble April 2019
Artwork by Liss Harvey 2019

Matthew Roche – guitar
Oscar Neyland – bass
Christopher Cameron – drums

All compositions by Matthew Roche, with arrangements and performances by Soft Power.

Oscar plays an Atelier Puglisi “Da Salo” Double Bass
Chris plays Sleishman Drums



all rights reserved



Soft Power Melbourne, Australia

Immersive and genre-fluid, Soft Power is a trio that is deeply embedded with all of Australia’s great traditions of jazz and indie rock whilst forging its own path sound-tracking a meditative and utopian future.

contact / help

Contact Soft Power

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Soft Power, you may also like: